Supporting Team Members

The Institute for Mental Health Research is proud to list below the individuals of considerable capability and compassion who make up our Board of Directors, Advisory Steering Committee, and External Scientific Advisory Panel.


Board of Directors

Michael F. Meyer
Chair & Board President
Meyer Consulting

Gary Grove, M.D. FAPA
Board Vice President
Private Practice Psychiatrist

Mary Davis, Ph.D.
Board Secretary
Professor, Dept. of Psychology
Arizona State University

Sara T. Gordon, M.I.M
Board Treasurer
Capital Advisor, Private Wealth Management
J.P. Morgan Chase

Mark Landy, CPA
Former Principlal, Miller, Allen & Co., P.C.

Lauren Meyer
Meyer Consulting

Joan Rankin Shapiro, Ph.D.
Former Associate Dean of Research
University of Arizona College of Medicine, Phoenix

Mitzi Krockover, M.D.
Director, Health Futures Council
Arizona State University

Karen Amstutz, M.D., M.B.A., F.A.A.P.
Chief Medical Officer
Magellan Health, Inc.





Carol Lagesse

Operations Director

602.595.5447 - office



External Scientific Advisory Panel

David Kupfer, M.D., Chair
(Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh and noted National Institutes of Health researcher).

Floyd Bloom, M.D.
(Chair and Professor, Department of Neuropharmacology, The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, CA, and Chief Executive Officer, Neurome, Inc.)

Alan J. Gelenberg, M.D.,                                   (Former Professor & Head, UA, College of Medicine, Dept. of Psychiatry)

Marlene Freeman, M.D.,                                  (Director of Clinical Services in the Perinatal and Reproductive Psychiatry Clinical Research Program at Massachusetts General Hospital and an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School)


The Institute for Mental Health Research is a research institute and does not provide clinical services at this time.  Please use the Health Resources page for links to services and information.