January 2, 2018

IMHR Prize

The IMHR Prize for Innovation and Excellence in Mental Health Research

Since the IMHR was established in 2001, its mission has been to encourage and support exciting and innovative research in mental health to advance our current understandings of brain and behavioral functioning as well as lead to major national funding to further pursue such efforts.  To date, the IMHR has granted over $2 Million to nearly 50 Arizona scientists, which has in turn led to more than $21 Million in national research funding from those supported investigators.

Now, to further promote the IMHR and its mission to recognize and support outstanding science in mental health, we are pleased to announce the establishment of the annual IMHR Prize for Innovation and Excellence in Mental Health Research.

Eligibility:  Any scientist who both resides and conducts their work in the State of Arizona.

Criteria:  This award acknowledges creative, impactful, and important contributions to current understandings of mental health across its many facets.  The research can be basic or applied, and can address processes in understanding psychopathology or models of intervention and prevention. Nominations can be for work represented by: (1) a single, but especially innovative/creative study that breaks new ground, (2) a more established program of research that is creating new perspectives, or (3) a recognition of a career of substantial contribution that has helped to establish and define a field of inquiry.

AwardPlanned to be given annually, the award will include $5000 and a plaque denoting the award.  The funds could be used as the recipient sees fit to support their efforts.

Nomination:  Nominations are welcome from relevant professionals in the field as well as from IMHR board members or affiliates. A nomination form is attached, and all nominations must be submitted on this form.  Nominators may be contacted to provide additional information if the nominee is selected as a finalist for the Prize.  Nomination due dates will be announced soon, and should be sent via email to Ms. Gwyn Hutchinson (gwyn@imhr.org).  Please direct any inquiries to Keith Crnic, IMHR Board Chair (kcrnic@imhr.org).

Selection:  A subcommittee of the IMHR Board serves as the IMHR Prize selection committee.  This committee will review all nominations, and will select three finalists for whom more information will be solicited.  The subcommittee will determine what further documentation will be needed about each finalist, and will solicit that information from the nominator or elsewhere as appropriate.  From the finalists, the subcommittee will recommend the awardee to the full IMHR Board, who will participate in the selection of the awardee.

Award Announcement:  An gala event will be held in May of 2019 to announce the winner (specific time and date to be announced), and will be attended by invited guests that include IMHR sponsors and contributors, IMHR and EpiCenter Board members, Board colleagues, selected colleagues of the awardee, and the awardee’s family. The recipient will be asked to provide a brief presentation about their work.

IMHR Prize Nomination Form